Zaloguj | Zarejestruj | FAQ
Anonymous

Linux or windows web hosting

+ Odpowiedz

Linux or windows web hosting

przez srinivas » Cz maja 19, 2011 6:30 am

Hi,

I started learning HTML,CSS and PHP here. I want to host the website, though its a not useful website at the moment, through a web hosting company. However, i'm in confusion about selecting between Linux and windows OS for hosting my website. I'm familiar with Windows OS and have zero knowledge in Linux. Do i require to know the OS for hosting any website. The confusion started as all the packages for Linux hosting are looking good.

Please help me.

Thanks in advance,

Srinivas.

srinivas

Re: Linux or windows web hosting

przez HTML.net » Cz maja 19, 2011 8:56 am

Hi,

Normally you can't use PHP on a Windows server. So, if you use PHP you should go for Linux/Apache hosting.

You don't need to know anything about Linux to have a hosted webiste on a Linux server. You just upload/ftp your page to the server. It's very easy.

You can start by setting up a free account on http://www.000webhost.com/

Good luck,

- Andreas, HTML.net

HTML.net
Site Admin

--
Show some love for HTML.net on Twitter, Facebook and Google: Use the buttons on top of all pages.

przez iDana » Pt maja 20, 2011 3:41 pm

For server side scripting using PHP I would go for Linux hosting, it's cheaper than Microsoft and not all microsoft servers enable the use of PHP. However, if you are using ASP, .NET or ASP.net then go for microsoft hosting.

iDana

--
iDana

przez srinivas » Pt maja 27, 2011 5:09 am

Dear All,

Thanks for the replies.

Regards,

Srinivas.

srinivas

przez anderson87 » Pn sie 29, 2011 6:43 am

Linux Operating System is mostly preferred on the Servers, Windows comes under play when some specific requirements are to be fulfilled, otherwise Linux is the server king.